RS polls in UP, Karnataka, and Himachal Pradesh

Rajya Sabha polls to be conducted in Uttar Pradesh, Karnataka and Himachal Pradesh today.
RS polls in UP, Karnataka, and Himachal Pradesh

There are 10 vacancies in the upper house from UP, of which the BJP has the numbers to win seven unopposed and the Samajwadi Party (SP) can win three. But with the BJP fielding businessman-turned-politician Sanjay Seth as its eighth candidate, the battle is on for one of the seats. Former SP leader Sthe eth joined BJP in 2019.

In Karnataka, there are four Rajya Sabha seats and five candidates in the fray. The candidature of Janata Dal (Secular) leader and real estate baron D Kupendra Reddy has become an inevitable contest for the fourth seat. As per current figures, Congress is assured of winning three seats and BJP is poised to win one.

In Himachal Pradesh, the Congress has the numbers to win the one Rajya Sabha seat to contest, but there is clear resentment among some in the Congress over the candidature of senior party leader Abhishek Manu Singhvi. The BJP has fielded former Congress leader Harsh Mahajan in the hope of cashing in on any division in the Congress.