Record No. of Indian-Origin MPs Elected to the British Parliament

In a historic outcome for Indian-origin representation, the UK Parliament will welcome a record 29 MPs of Indian descent following the 2024 general election.
Record No. of Indian-Origin MPs Elected to the British Parliament

In a historic moment, the United Kingdom’s 2024 general election witnessed a remarkable surge in Indian-origin representation. A record 29 Members of Parliament (MPs) of Indian descent were elected to the UK’s House of Commons, marking a significant milestone. This achievement reflects the growing influence and participation of the Indian diaspora in British politics. Here are the key highlights:

  1. Labour Dominance and New Faces:

    • Labour party emerged as the leading party for People of Indian Origin (PIO) MPs, securing 19 seats, including 12 newcomers.

    • Notable retainers include Preet Kaur GillTanmanjeet Singh DhesiLisa NandyNadia WhittomeNavendu MishraValerie Vaz, and Seema Malhotra.

    • Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi retained Slough, while Thangam Debbonaire lost Bristol Central to the Green Party, highlighting competitive contests within Labour strongholds.

  2. Conservative Challenges:

    • The Conservative Party welcomed two new PIO MPs, with key figures like Priti PatelRishi SunakSuella BravermanClaire Coutinho, and Gagan Mohindra retaining their seats.

    • However, losses in constituencies like North West Cambridgeshire and Hampshire North East underscored competitive races across Conservative-held areas.

  3. Notable Changes and Background:

    • Alok Sharma and Virendra Sharma opted not to seek re-election, impacting Reading West and Ealing Southall respectively.

    • Deirdre Costigan secured Ealing Southall for Labour with a substantial majority.

    • Minor parties like the Green Party and Reform UK fielded 13 PIO candidates but failed to secure any seats.

    • Independents like Iqbal Mohamed and Shockat Adam made significant gains, reflecting diverse political aspirations within the PIO community.

  4. Firsts and Achievements:

    • Kanishka Narayan (34) won Vale of Glamorgan, becoming the first ethnic minority MP elected to represent a Welsh constituency at Westminster.

    • Sojan Joseh (49), a Keralite, gained the Labour seat of Ashford from the Conservatives after working as an NHS nurse in the UK for 22 years.

    • Sonia Kumar, a PIO Sikh, secured the Labour seat of Dudley, overcoming controversy surrounding her representation of Kashmir.

  5. Tory Newcomers:

    • Rishi Sunak retained Richmond and Northallerton as the outgoing Prime Minister.

    • Former home secretary Suella Braverman won Fareham and Waterlooville.

    • Former home secretary Priti Patel retained Witham.

  6. Independents:

    • Iqbal Mohamed, whose parents arrived in the UK from India in the 1960s, gained Dewsbury and Batley.

    • Shockat Adam, born to parents from Malawi, secured Leicester South.

The diverse group of PIO MPs currently serving in the UK Parliament is a significant step toward more diversity and inclusivity in parliamentary capacities. This election outcome reflects shifting political dynamics and the increasing influence of the PIO community in British politics.

The Labour Party, with 19 Indian-origin MPs, played a pivotal role in this historic outcome, including 12 newcomers. As the UK Parliament welcomes this diverse representation, it underscores the contributions and impact of the Indian diaspora on British politics.

This record achievement reflects not only individual successes but also the collective strength of Indian-origin communities in shaping the UK’s political landscape. As these MPs take their seats, they carry the hopes and aspirations of their constituents, bridging cultures and advocating for a more inclusive and vibrant Britain.