Pawan Kalyan Elected as JSP Floor Leader

Actor-turned-politician Power Star Pawan Kalyan was elected president at the meeting of the newly elected MLAs of the party held at the party headquarters in Mangalagiri.
Pawan Kalyan Elected as JSP Floor Leader

Jana Sena Legislature Party unanimously elected party president Konidela Pawan Kalyan as its legislative party leader. Actor-turned politician Power Star Pawan Kalyan was elected at the meeting of newly-elected MLAs of the party held at party headquarters in Mangalagiri. Party’s political affairs committee chairman and Tenali MLA Nadendla Manohar proposed the name of Pawan Kalyan as the leader and it was unanimously supported by all other MLAs.

All 22 newly-elected MLAs of Jana Sena attended the meeting. Party won all 21 Assembly seats it contested in alliance with the TDP and the BJP. Party president Pawan Kalyan was elected from the Pithapuram constituency in the Kakinada district. Having faced defeat in Bhimavaram and Gajuwaka in 2019 General Elections, Pawan Kalyan wrests Pithapuram seat this time with a margin of more than 70,000 votes.

This was the maiden electoral victory for Pawan Kalyan, who had suffered defeat in both the Assembly seats he contested in 2019. This time Jana Sena also won both the Lok Sabha seats it contested.

TDP-Jana Sena-BJP stormed to power with a landslide victory, bagging 164 seats in the 175-member Assembly. TDP alone won 135 seats while the BJP candidates emerged victorious in eight constituencies.  YSRC Party, which had 151 seats in the previous House, was reduced to just 11 seats.