LS Polls 2024: Stakes high for BJP as 92 seats go to polls

Amit Shah and Jyotiraditya Scindia, two former CMs, are among the main candidates in phase 3.
LS Polls 2024: Stakes high for BJP as 92 seats go to polls

The destiny of several ministries and important MPs, including union Home Minister Amit Shah, will be decided on Tuesday during phase three of the Lok Sabha elections. The campaign officially ended on Sunday. In phase three of the Lok Sabha election on May 7, 1,351 candidates are running in 12 states and Union Territories. Supriya Sule, Narayan Rane, Amit Shah, Jyotiraditya Scindia, and Digvijaya Singh are among the most prominent candidates.

There are 1,351 applicants from 12 states, as well as the Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman & Diu. Union Minister Amit Shah, Civil Aviation Minister Jyotiraditya Scindia, former Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Supriya Sule, and former Karnataka Chief Minister Basavaraj Bommai are among the prominent candidates in phase three.

Maharashtra’s 11 seats Raigad, Baramati, Osmanabad, Latur, Solapur, Madha, Sangli, Satara, Ratnagiri-Sindhudurg, Kolhapur, and Hatkanangle will all be up for election. Gujarat will have voting in 25 of its 26 seats. Mukesh Dalal, the BJP candidate from Surat, was elected unopposed after Congress rival Nilesh Kumbhani's nomination was denied. In Madhya Pradesh, voters cast ballots in nine of the 29 seats, including Morena, Bhind, Gwalior, Guna, Sagar, Vidisha, Bhopal, and Rajgarh, with the exception of Betul, where voting was scheduled to take place in the second phase. Following the death of the BSP candidate, the election was moved to the third phase.  Polling will take place in both Goa's North and South seats.  In the third phase of Karnataka elections, voting will take place in 14 of the state's 28 seats. Chikkodi, Belgaum, Bagalkot, Bijapur, Gulbarga, Raichur, Bidar, Koppal, Bellary, Haveri, Dharwad, Uttara Kannada, Davangere, and Shimoga seats will be up for election. Phase 2 voting for 14 seats took place on April 26. Uttar Pradesh will have elections in Sambhal, Hathras (SC), Agra (SC), Fatehpur Sikri, Firozabad, Mainpuri, Etah, Budaun, Aonla, and Bareilly.

The Union Territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (2 seats) will also vote in the third phase, in addition to seven constituencies in Chhattisgarh, five in Bihar, and four each in Assam and West Bengal.