Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5 Voting Highlights

According to the Election Commission of India, 57.57 per cent turnout was recorded in 49 seats in the fifth phase
Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 5 Voting Highlights

Highlights of the Phase 5 Voting in the Lok Sabha Election 2024 On May 20, voting was completed in 49 constituencies across six states and two Union territories in phase 5 of the Lok Sabha Elections 2024. According to the poll panel, 73% of West Bengal residents voted. The fifth phase saw a turnout of approximately 57.57%, according to the Election Commission of India. West Bengal reported 73% polling, according to the poll panel's Voter Turnout App, which was updated until 8 p.m. According to the UT's Chief Election Officer, PK Pole, as stated by news agency PTI, the Baramulla Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir had the highest voter participation of all time, at 59%. According to the election panel, Bihar had 52.82 percent of the vote, Jharkhand had 63%, Ladakh had 67.15 percent, Maharashtra had 49.15 percent, Odisha had 60.87 percent, and Uttar Pradesh had 57.79 percent.

According to a statement issued by the Election Commission of India (ECI) on May 16, the overall turnout in the four phases of election so far has been 66.95 percent. Following a drop in the first three phases of elections, the voting percentage increased in the fourth. Elections were held in Uttar Pradesh (14), Maharashtra (13), West Bengal (7), Bihar (5), Odisha (5), and Jharkhand (3) from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. and one seat each in the Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh.

The fifth phase of the Lok Sabha elections 2024 featured a struggle for several high-profile seats, with many notable ministers and leaders competing. Rahul Gandhi (Rae Bareli, Uttar Pradesh), Smriti Irani (Amethi, Uttar Pradesh), Rajnath Singh (Lucknow, Uttar Pradesh), Karan Bhushan Singh (Kaiserganj, Uttar Pradesh), Rohini Acharya (Saran, Bihar), Chirag Paswan (Hajipur, Bihar), Piyush Goyal (Mumbai North), Ujjwal Nikam (Mumbai North-Central), and Omar Abdullah (Baramulla, Jammu and Kashmir) were among the key candidates in the race.

In addition to the 49 Lok Sabha seats, 35 Assembly constituencies in Odisha voted on Monday. Over 8.95 crore voters, including 4.69 crore males and 4.26 crore women, as well as 5,409 third-gender electors, were eligible to vote in today's fifth phase. Over 7.81 lakh voters aged 85 and more were registered, as well as 24,792 voters over the age of 100. Today, around 9.47 lakh polling officers were deployed at 94,732 polling locations.

The BJP won 32 Lok Sabha seats in 2019 and its allies won 7 seats. The saffron party won at least 30 seats with a vote share of greater than 40%. In 2019, the Congress gained only one seat, Raebareli, out of 49. Seven seats were won by its allies, including the TMC led by Mamata Banerjee. Overall, the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) got 39 seats, while the INDIA bloc parties won eight seats in the 49 constituencies that voted today. In 2019, the Biju Janata Dal (BJD) won the remaining two seats.

The election for more than three-fourths of the 543 Lok Sabha seats (428 seats) is now complete, with voting in 49 constituencies held today. The remaining two phases will take place on May 25 and June 1. On June 4, the votes for all seven Lok Sabha election phases will be counted. The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which is seeking a record third term under Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has set an aim of capturing 400 seats in this election. The government coalition is being challenged by opposition parties led by the Congress under the banner of the INDIA bloc.