Lok Sabha Election 2024: Phase 3 Highlights

Phase 3 polls saw 61.45% turnout, as per the initial EC estimate.
Lok Sabha Election 2024: Phase 3 Highlights

Lok Sabha Election 2024 Phase 3 Highlights: Phase 3 of the Lok Sabha elections concluded at 8 p.m., with varying voter turnout across states and Union Territories. Assam led with 75.26 percent turnout in four constituencies, followed by Bihar, Chhattisgarh, and Karnataka. Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Goa, and Gujarat all participated actively. The total turnout for 11 states encompassing 93 constituencies is 61.45%. These are estimated estimates, excluding postal ballots, with final tallies released at polling stations' closing.

On May 7, voter turnout reached roughly 40% during the first six hours of polling in the third phase of Lok Sabha elections across 93 constituencies in 11 states and one union territory. However, there were reports of violence in West Bengal, while some villages in Uttar Pradesh observed poll boycotts.Maharashtra had the lowest voting percentage (31.55%), while West Bengal had the highest at nearly 50%. In particular, the BJP won the Surat constituency in Gujarat without being challenged.

This phase included voting in Goa (2 seats), Gujarat (25 seats), Chhattisgarh (7 seats), and Karnataka (14 seats). Voting also took place for two Lok Sabha seats in Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. The remaining constituencies up for voting included four in Assam, five in Bihar, eight in Madhya Pradesh, eleven in Maharashtra, ten in Uttar Pradesh, and four in West Bengal. For phase 6, the polling date for the Anantnag-Rajouri Lok Sabha seat in Jammu and Kashmir has been pushed back to May 25.

In the third phase, up to 17.24 crore electors are eligible to vote. According to the poll panel, around 18.5 lakh polling officers have been deployed at 1.85 lakh polling stations. There are around 14.04 lakh registered voters over the age of 85. Another 39,599 voters over the age of 100 are registered in phase 3 voting. The first two stages of the election took place on April 19 and 26. Overall, there will be seven phases of voting for the 543 Lok Sabha seats. The following phases will be held on May 13, May 20, May 25, and June 1. On June 4, the votes from all seven phases of the Lok Sabha Elections will be counted.

The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which is vying for a record third term under Prime Minister Narendra Modi, has set a target of 400 seats this year. The government coalition is being challenged by opposition parties led by the Congress under the banner of the INDIA bloc.