Former Congressman Joins BJP, Praises PM Modi's Kashmir Policies

Former Congressman Joins BJP, Praises PM Modi's Kashmir Policies

Congress spokesperson joins BJP, praises PM Modi's government for new Kashmir image

Jahanzaib Sirwal, who was a spokesperson for the Congress party in Jammu and Kashmir, recently joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He praised Prime Minister Narendra Modi's government for its efforts in showcasing a new image of Kashmir to the nation and the world.

Sirwal officially joined the BJP in New Delhi, where he expressed his admiration for PM Modi's decision to revoke Article 370, which granted special status to Jammu and Kashmir. He stated that this move had elevated the Union Territory's status within the country.

Reflecting on the challenges faced by Jammu and Kashmir in the past, including unrest and violence, Sirwal commended the Modi government for curbing such incidents. He highlighted that the government's efforts had inspired the youth and changed the perception of Kashmir both nationally and internationally.

While Sirwal's decision to switch parties just days before the Lok Sabha elections is considered a setback for the Congress, particularly in Kishtwar district where he hails from, senior Congress leaders downplayed its significance, stating that Sirwal was not a prominent leader.

Kishtwar falls under the Udhampur-Kathua Lok Sabha constituency, which is scheduled to go to polls on April 19 during the first phase of the upcoming election.

In the Udhampur-Kathua constituency, 12 candidates are contesting, with the main competition expected to be between the BJP and the Congress. Both parties have nominated candidates who have previously served as Members of Parliament (MPs) from the constituency.

The BJP's candidate is Jitendra Singh, the incumbent MP and Union minister, who has been elected from the constituency in both the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections. The Congress's candidate, Choudhary Lal Singh, has also served as an MP from the constituency, representing it in the 2004 and 2009 Lok Sabha terms.