Haryana BJP puts forward Lok Sabha Candidates

BJP in Haryana has put for forward their Lok Sabha candidates for 2024 general elections. The list includes all the sitting MPs from Haryana along with several other old faces.
Haryana BJP puts forward Lok Sabha Candidates

The Haryana BJP recently revealed its list of potential candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections. This list includes all the current MPs from Haryana, as well as some prominent figures who lost in the 2019 Assembly polls. The decision was made during a meeting held in New Delhi, chaired by top party leaders.

In the last elections, the BJP had secured all 10 seats in Haryana. However, the Ambala seat is now vacant following the unfortunate passing of Rattan Lal Kataria in May 2023. During the meeting, it was also decided that the BJP would contest the Lok Sabha polls independently, without forming an alliance with the Jannayak Janta Party (JJP), which is led by Dushyant Chautala and is currently the BJP's partner in the state government.

There had been uncertainty regarding a potential alliance between the two parties, especially after their collaboration following the 2019 Assembly results. Dushyant Chautala responded to the BJP's decision by stating that the final call would be made during an NDA meeting.

In response, the JJP announced its own meeting in Karnal on March 3 to discuss its strategy for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls. The BJP is now faced with the dilemma of whether to stick with its current MPs or introduce new faces as candidates. Ultimately, the final decision rests with the party's high command.

The meeting, chaired by Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar and attended by top BJP leaders, discussed various aspects of the election strategy. The party's state in-charge Biplab Deb, state chief Nayab Saini, and other prominent figures such as Birender Singh, Capt Abhimanyu, Om Prakash Dhankar, and Subhash Barala were also present.