CPI to contest LS Polls without Congress in Jharkhand

CPI has disassociated itself with the I.N.D.I.A bloc and as a result, it will be contesting LS Polls independently. CPI State Secretary Mahendra Pathak said candidates will be announced by 16th March.
CPI to contest LS Polls without Congress in Jharkhand

The Communist Party of India (CPI) decided to go solo in the upcoming elections. They will contest in eight out of the 14 Lok Sabha seats. The CPI has no representation from Jharkhand in the Lower House of Parliament.

CPI state secretary Mahendra Pathak stated, "We have decided to contest the Lok Sabha polls on our own." He mentioned that while the BJP has announced its candidates, there have been no discussions between the Congress, the 'Mahagathbandhan,' and the CPI regarding seat-sharing.

The decision was made during the party's state executive committee meeting in Ranchi. The CPI will field its candidates in eight Lok Sabha constituencies: Ranchi, Hazaribagh, Koderma, Chatra, Palamu, Giridih, Dumka, and Jamshedpur. The names of the candidates will be announced after March 16.

In Jharkhand, out of the 14 seats, the BJP holds 11, AJSU party holds one, JMM holds one, and the Congress holds one. However, the Congress' lone MP Geeta Kora recently shifted allegiance to the BJP.